Review: My Reckless Valentine by Olivia Dade

Posted May 21, 2016 by Tiffany in 3 Stars, Book Reviews, Contemporary / 0 Comments

Tags:

Review: My Reckless Valentine by Olivia DadeMy Reckless Valentine
by Olivia Dade

Series: Lovestruck Librarians #2
Published by Lyrical Shine on January 19, 2016
Sub-Genre/Theme: Contemporary
Format: Ebook
Source: Purchased

Buy: Amazon, B&N
Add to Goodreads

three-stars

TEMPTATION FROM A TO Z

Library manager Angie Burrowes is in trouble again. Her superiors have never approved of her unconventional methods, but the latest warning is serious—another complaint from the administration or a patron, and she’s fired. With a steamy Valentine’s Day contest to conceal and her career on the line, the last thing Angie needs is a near-accident while driving home. At least, until she meets the tall, dark, and sexy stranger responsible for her very own spicy plot twist...

Straight-laced Grant Peterson has only one thing on his mind: making a good impression as the new Director of Branch Services at the Nice County Public Library. On the eve of his first day, however, a lusty encounter with Angie unleashes a desire unlike any he’s ever known. Their tryst may be one for the record books, but when he learns he’s Angie’s new boss, will Grant need to check out on love?

I love Olivia Dade’s writing style. I liked a lot about My Reckless Valentine, which is filled with humor and witty dialogue, as well as characters who I enjoyed getting to know.

My Reckless Valentine is book #2 in the Lovestruck Librarians series and the follow-up to Broken Resolutions. The heroine, branch manager Angie, frequently finds herself in hot water with library administration. Angie has a tendency to shirk professional propriety in favor of risqué library programs and displays. Library admin has made it clear that Angie will be fired if she does one more thing that reflects poorly on the library’s reputation.

At the beginning of the story, Angie meets the hero, Grant, in a hilarious scene involving cars and wayward luggage with some very useful contents. I loved the comical circumstances of their meeting and how it quickly turned into a hot hookup.

Angie tends to be impulsive, both at work and in her personal life. For Grant, though, a hookup is totally out of character for the guy known as Mr. Spreadsheet. Just this once, Grant decides to have some fun and give in to his instant attraction to this woman he has just met.

The sex is amazing and leaves them both wanting more–not just more sex, but the possibility of a relationship. There’s just one problem: they never discussed their occupations when they met. The morning after, they discover that Grant is Angie’s new direct supervisor at the library.

I was very interested to see how this played out. The title of the book is very fitting because it can be applied to both Angie and Grant. When they meet, they fall for each other hard and fast. As such, they know it’s risky for both of their jobs if they pursue a relationship, but they do so anyway. It’s quite reckless on both their parts.

Their physical chemistry is explosive and I appreciated that Grant isn’t a stereotypical alpha male. Outside the bedroom, his personality is logical and mild-mannered. In the bedroom, however, he finds himself exploring a side that he’s never experienced before–one that Angie alone has brought out of him.

As with book #1, I got a sense of insta-love between the main characters since they fall for each other so quickly. Also, I think the central conflict of the story was resolved a little too easily. I found it hard to believe just because I kept imagining what those scenarios would look like if they happened at the library system where I work, but I was willing to accept the resolution within the fictional context of this book.

In addition to the romantic elements, something I also loved are the friendships between Angie and her coworkers, some from book #1 and others who we’ll see again in forthcoming books. Additionally, Grant’s relationship with his parents is touching and sweet.

As I mentioned, I’m a big fan of Olivia Dade’s writing style, which I would recommend for fans of authors like Jill Shalvis and Victoria Dahl. It’s a great mix of humor and heart. My Reckless Valentine is an enjoyable read that I recommend and it’s a good addition to the Lovestruck Librarians series.

Rating: 3 stars

three-stars

Leave a Reply